Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information

Who We Are

A picture of WWB executive director Karen M. Phillips
Executive Director & Publisher
Eric M B Becker
Digital Director & Senior Editor
Editor & Development Coordinator
Adam Dalva By Beowulf Sheehan
Adam Dalva
Books Editor
headshot of 2022–23 words without borders editorial fellow isabella corletto
Isabella Corletto
2022–23 Editorial Fellow
Susan Harris
Editorial Director
Nadia Kalman
Editor & Curriculum Designer
Watchlist Editor
Portrait of writer Maya Jaggi
Maya Jaggi
Maggie Vlietstra
Maggie Vlietstra
Editorial Assistant



Alane Salierno Mason, Founder and President
Dedi Felman, Co-Founder
Samantha Schnee, Founding Editor and Chairman of the Board

Board of Directors

Alane Salierno Mason, President and Founder
Abe Hsuan, Vice Chair
Jonathan Schorr, Treasurer
Karen M. Phillips, Vice President
Kalpana Raina, Secretary
Sarah Salih von Maltzahn


Anthony Knerr
Jim Ottaway, Jr., Chair Emeritus
Margo Viscusi

Advisory Committee

Alberta Arthurs
Susan H. Gillespie