Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information

Ottaway Award

Named in honor of James H. Ottaway, Jr., the first board chair of Words Without Borders, the Ottaway Award for the Promotion of International Literature recognizes individuals who have taken extraordinary steps to advance international literature in English translation. In accordance with WWB’s mission, the awardee will be selected on the basis of their efforts to build cultural understanding by advancing popular awareness of international writers and literatures.

Historically, the Ottaway Award has been presented each year at the Words Without Borders Gala in New York City. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a hiatus was placed on the award in 2020, before resuming in 2021. Past awardees are (below, left to right) Daniel Hahn (2023), Naveen Kishore (2021), Edith Grossman (2019), Chad W. Post (2018), Jill Schoolman (2017), Barbara Epler (2016), Sara Bershtel (2015), Carol Brown Janeway (2014), and Drenka Willen (2013).

Past Ottaway Award Winners
Portrait of translator Daniel Hahn
Daniel Hahn
Edith Grossman Ottaway Award 2019
Edith Grossman
Words Without Borders Gala
Jill Schoolman
2015 Ottaway SaraBershtel
Sara Bershtel
2013 Ottaway DrenkaWillen
Drenka Willen
Naveen Kishore Ottaway Award 2021
Naveen Kishore
Words Without Borders Gala
Chad W. Post
Barbara Epler Ottaway
Barbara Epler
2014 Ottaway CarolBrownJaneway 200×300
Carol Brown Janeway