Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information


Victor Heringer

Portrait of Victor Heringer
Credit: Renato Parada

Victor Heringer

Victor Heringer was born in Rio de Janeiro in 1988. His first poetry collection, Automatógrafo, was published in 2011, followed by his debut novel, Glória, which won the 2013 Jabuti Prize. His second novel, The Love of Singular Men, was published in 2016, and was shortlisted for the São Paulo Prize for Literature, the Rio Prize, and the Oceanos Prize....

He also published O escritor Victor Heringer (2015), a conceptual book of photographs, contributed a weekly column to the literary magazine Pessoa, and translated from English to Portuguese. In 2017 he was selected by Forbes for their “under 30” list. Heringer died in 2018, three weeks before his thirtieth birthday. Following his death, Companhia das Letras reissued all of his works and a complete anthology of his poems. In 2021, they published a collection of his nonfiction writing, Vida desinteressante, which was shortlisted for the 2022 Jabuti Prize. 

Read More

Articles by Victor Heringer

Two men's shadows
Photo by Robert V. Ruggiero on Unsplash