Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information


Hagop Oshagan


Hagop Oshagan

Hagop Oshagan (1883–1948) is one of the most important figures of modern Armenian literature....

The 1915 genocide of the Armenians of the Ottoman Empire defined his larger project—the literary reconstruction of the lost Western Armenian culture.

Oshagan forged a demanding role for himself: as a novelist, short story writer, and playwright; a literary critic and historian; and a teacher of literature. Among his many novels are the trilogy Haruyr Meg Darvan (One Hundred and One Years); Dzag Bdoog (The Harlot), and his unfinished magnum opus, Mnatsortats (The Remnants).

His output as a literary critic and historian is grounded in the ten-volume Panorama of Armenian Literature. Oshagan is also the author of shorter, book-length volumes of literary studies.

After 1924, Oshagan lived in Egypt, Cyprus, and Palestine, where he taught Armenian literature, forging a reputation as a charismatic and influential educator for the generations.

Oshagan died while on a visit to Aleppo, on the night of February 17, 1948.

Read More

Articles by Hagop Oshagan