Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information


Augusto Higa Oshiro

Portrait of writer Augusto Higa Oshiro
Photo copyright © Alisson Chinchon

Augusto Higa Oshiro

Augusto Higa Oshiro (b. 1946, Lima) studied Peruvian and Latin American literature at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos....

His publications include the story collections Que te coma el tigre (1977), La casa de Albaceleste (1987), and Okinawa existe (2013); the memoir Japón no da dos oportunidades (1994); and the novels Final del Porvenir (1992), La iluminación de Katzuo Nakamatsu (2008), Gaijin (2014), and Saber matar, saber morir (2014). He is the recipient of the Asociación Peruano Japonesa’s Premio José Watanabe Varas for prose (2012) and the Cámara Peruana del Libro’s Premio de Novela Breve (2014), and has been recognized for his contributions to culture by Peru’s Ministry of Culture.

Read More

Articles by Augusto Higa Oshiro