Skip to main content
Outdated Browser

For the best experience using our website, we recommend upgrading your browser to a newer version or switching to a supported browser.

More Information


Caryl Lewis

Portrait of author Caryl Lewis

Caryl Lewis

Caryl Lewis is an award-winning Welsh-language author who has published eleven books for adults, three novels for young adults, and thirteen children’s books. She came to prominence as the author of Martha, Jac a Sianco (Y Lolfa 2004; Martha, Jack and Shanco, Parthian, 2007), which won the Wales Book of the Year award. Both Y Gemydd (The Jeweler, 2007) and Naw Mis (Nine Months, 2009) were shortlisted for the Wales Book of the Year award, which she won for the second time in 2016 with her tenth novel, Y Bwthyn (The Cottage, 2015), and for the third time with her latest book, a collection of short stories, Y Gwreiddyn (The Root, 2017). Her books have been selected by Wales Literature Exchange for their Bookcase, the annual selection of titles recommended for translation. Caryl Lewis has also written extensively for cinema and television, notably adapting for film her own novel Martha, Jac a Sianco (2008), which won several awards at home and overseas. Her TV credits include the Welsh scripts for the internationally successful bilingual crime series set in Wales Y Gwyll / Hinterland, broadcast in over twenty countries, and Craith / Hidden (BBC/S4C).

Articles by Caryl Lewis

The Root
By Caryl Lewis
Yes, there was a shadow there.
Translated from Welsh by George Jones